Disability Advisory Committee (DAC)

Council’s Disability Advisory Committee (DAC) was established by City of Darwin to ensure equity of access to people with disability with regard to Council procedures, services and facilities.

The Disability Advisory Committee meets five times per year and its main objectives are:

  • To monitor the implementation of Council’s Community Access Plan under the Disability Discrimination Act.
  • To keep Council informed of standards and legislation that may impact on Council’s provision of services and facilities.
  • To identify actions which Council may take to improve access on Council property.
  • To monitor the progress of requests and complaints associated with access issues.
  • To provide information to the community on disability issues through various publications, promotions and public forums.

Nominations now open

City of Darwin invites nominations from volunteer community representatives for appointment to the Disability Advisory Committee. To nominate, please register via the online form. A downloadable version is also available.

Nominations Close 5.00pm Friday 3 Jun 2016

The current DAC members for the term ending 30 June 2016 are:

Alderman Allan Mitchell Elected Member, City of Darwin
Alderman Justine Glover Elected Member, City of Darwin
Deborah Bampton Community Representative
Leo Golding Community Representative
Rosemary Burkitt Community Representative
Dianne Maley Community Representative
Cassandra Jevdenijevic Community Representative
Emma Fraser Community Representative
Lynne Strathie Community Representative
Julie Forrest-Davis Community Representative
Avril Vaughan Community Representative
Charles Atherton Community Representative
Kirrily Chambers Specialist Representative, Department of Lands and Planning
Kayla McDonough Specialist Representative, National Disability Services NT
Alasdair McGregor Specialist Representative, Council on the Ageing (COTA) NT
Afshin Beigi Specialist Representative, Department of Transport
Nik Kleine City of Darwin
Gail Price City of Darwin (committee secretary)

For more information on Council’s Disability Advisory Committee, please contact the Community Development Officer on 8930 0645 or darwin@darwin.nt.gov.au